Do You Believe In Ghosts?

Screen Shot 2017-06-08 at 12.27.24 PM

“Did you move it?”

“For the last time, I’m telling you, I didn’t move the damn pointer.

Fear crept across my face. Angie could see it. She looked at me wide-eyed, the light of the candles enough to read my fear-filled expression.

“Who moved it?” I asked again, knowing the answer already.

Angie didn’t answer.

“This is stupid, let’s just pack up” she said and started packing the board away.

“No wait, are we not supposed to say goodbye”? I asked.

Angie sighed.

“Fine! I’m so done with this” she said angrily and put the board back on the kitchen table.

“Goodbye Spirit” Angie said out loud waiting for a response.

The pointer moved.

“No? What does that mean”? I asked in a panicked voice.

“Nothing, this spirit is just full of it” Angie said, less confident.

“I don’t believe in ghosts, but I might change my mind if one decides to haunt me” I said.

Angie rolled her eyes.

“Nothing is going to haunt you. We are just going to pack this board away, burn it if we must and everything is going to be just fine”. She said.

I raised my eyebrows in an attempt to show her that I don’t think it’s wise to mess with the spirit. She ignored me.

“Thanks for playing you stupid ghost” Angie said and packed the board back in the cardboard box.

The candles flickered and then darkness surrounded us.

“Angie?” I said in a whisper.

Silence.

Leave a Reply

